Tags

, , , , , , ,

One of the things we hear from the doctors over and over (and over and over) again is how important it is to stay hydrated.  In the early days of treatment for CrabbyCancerMan, it was a struggle to get enough fluid into him.  The standard 64 oz wasn’t enough.  We tried many methods to remind him to drink, and in solidarity, I made extra efforts to stay hydrated myself.  I even downloaded a little app for my iPhone that reminds me to drink water, called the Drink-O-Matic.  Every so often a helpful little pop-up reminder appears on my phone which says “Important reminder!  Time for a drink!”  Many days, I laugh, because rather than “a drink” (a healthful, clean tasting water), what I read is “a Drink” (a naughty, alcoholic concoction that will temporarily reign in the crabbiness and replace it with the giggles).   Fortunately, Dr. Oz has advice on the latter (and if you don’t feel like watching the video, here’s a text answer).  Well, I guess it’s time to switch my traditional Dirty Martini to something a little more health conscious.

For your drinking pleasure, my cocktail expert friend KittieGlitter has recommended the following brandy drink (okay, it’s not brandy based, but it does have some brandy in it):
Fog Cutter

2 oz lemon juice
1 oz orange juice
1/2 oz orgeat
2 oz light puerto rican rum
1 oz brandy
1/2 oz gin
1/2 oz cream sherry

1.  Shake everything except sherry with ice cubes.
2.  Pour unstrained into a fog cutter mug (tall tiki mug).
3.  Float sherry on top to create “fog.”

This is the original WWII era Tader Vic recipe.

*Note from KittieGlitter: I actually usually do this one without the sherry, as I think cream sherry is gross.  So for me I guess its just a cutter.

 

